Sony promises 'PSVR 2 highlights' at State of Play

Sony promises 'PSVR 2 highlights' at State of Play

Sony has announced a new State of Play. The show will also feature "PSVR 2 Highlights".

Owners of the VR system are hungry for new games, and if you haven't bought the Playstation VR 2 yet, State of Play will hopefully give you a reason to do so before Christmas.

"Tomorrow’s broadcast will focus on updates to previously announced games coming to PlayStation consoles. From indie and PS VR2 highlights, to major upcoming titles from our third-party partners, our latest show has something for everyone," Sony wrote on the PlayStation Blog.

We hope to see new gameplay from Arizona Sunshine 2, Ghostbusters: Rise of the Ghost Lord, and Behemoth. All of these titles are scheduled for release in 2023. Maybe we'll also get a release date for Resident Evil 4's VR mode.

Playstation VR 2 needs must-have exclusives

As for Sony's commitment to PSVR 2, there's still room for improvement. Horizon Call of the Mountain was Sony's only first-party title. It is unlikely that anything similar will be announced today, as Sony is focusing on previously announced titles and third-party games for this State of Play.

logo

Which begs the questions: does Sony have a banger or two up its sleeve for the holiday season? If not, it would be a death knell for Playstation VR 2. While there are plenty of good PSVR 2 games for people who have never tried virtual reality before, there are few exclusive titles that make the VR platform shine. It's the indie studios that carry the burden of delivering the content.

If you want to tune in for State of Play today, you should do so at 2pm PT / 5pm ET / 10pm BST on Youtube, Twitch or Tiktok.

Buy Playstation VR 2, PS5 & Prescription Lenses
Playstation 5
Playstation VR 2
PSVR 2 Accessories
VR Optician

Sources: Playstation Blog